# Minutes of the NEW MEXICO MINING COMMISSION Regular Meeting March 2, 2015

Note: Draft minutes subject to review and approval by the Commission

Chairman Heaton convened the New Mexico Mining Commission meeting at 9:00 AM, Monday, March 2, 2015, in Porter Hall (1st floor of the Wendell Chino Building), Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department, 1220 South St. Francis Drive in Santa Fe, NM. The meeting was recorded and the digital audio files are in the custody of the Commission clerk.

### Roll call

Jane Tabor, Commission clerk, called the roll with the following results:

The following members were present:

John Heaton, Chair Public Representative – Environment

Matthew Wunder Department of Game and Fish

Virginia McLemore NM Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources

Mary Rose Environment Department
Mike Johnson Office of the State Engineer

Aubrey Dunn State Land Office

Patrick Freeman Public Representative – Industry

Roderick Ventura Alternate for Public Representative - Environment
John Brack Alternate for Public Representative - Industry

Sally Malavé Commission Attorney

The following members were absent:

Steve Loring NM Agricultural Experiment Station

Charlie Sanchez NM Soil and Water Conservation Commission

# Approval of the agenda

Chairman Heaton asked if there were any changes to the agenda; there were none. A motion to approve was made by Commissioner McLemore and seconded by Commissioner Rose. The motion passed unanimously.

# Adoption of the minutes of the February 12, 2014, meeting

Chairman Heaton asked if there were any changes to the minutes; there were none. Commissioner Johnson made a motion to adopt the minutes, seconded by Commissioner Wunder. All commissioners voted in favor of adoption.

Consideration and Adoption of the Commission's 2015 Open Meetings Act Resolution
Chairman Heaton received confirmation from the Commission's attorney that there were no changes
to the Commission's 2015 Open Meetings Resolution, as no changes were made to the Open
Meetings Act during the 2014 legislative session. The voice vote to adopt was unanimous.

# Action on Mining and Minerals Division's Petition for Rulemaking (15-01) regarding amending 19.10.12.1210(A)(1) NMAC (Release of Financial Assurance)

Chairman Heaton provided a synopsis of the petition to change the rule to allow for multiple financial assurance releases for any permitted mining operation to encourage reclamation, and the hearing

process that follows. MMD Director Fernando Martinez reported to the Commission that two meetings of the Director's Advisory Committee had occurred and all public comments had been considered. Mike Bowen of the New Mexico Mining Association stood in support of the rule change. Chairman Heaton asked for a motion to hold a hearing on the petition. Commissioner Freeman so moved; seconded by Commissioner McLemore. The voice vote was unanimous in favor of holding a hearing. Chairman Heaton asked for a motion to have the hearing before a full meeting of the Commission (rather than appoint a hearing officer). Commissioner McLemore so moved; seconded by Commissioner Dunn. The voice vote to adopt was unanimous. Because of hearing rule requirements, the hearing will not occur before a to-be-determined date in June, at the earliest.

The Mining Act Reclamation Program's 2013 annual report to the Commission

Program Manager Holland Shepherd and Senior Reclamation Specialist David J. Ennis presented the *2013 Annual Report of the Mining Act Reclamation Program* during which the Commission asked Mr. Shepherd and Mr. Ennis several questions regarding items contained in the report. Following the discussion, Chairman Heaton thanked them for their presentation.

Executive session held in accordance with NMSA 1978, Section 10-15-1(H)(7), regarding status of pending litigation: Multicultural Alliance for a Safe Environment and Amigos Bravos v. New Mexico Mining Commission, No. D-101-CV-2012-02318

Chairman Heaton asked for a motion to adjourn to executive session for the limited purpose of discussing the status of the pending litigation identified on the agenda. Commissioner McLemore so moved; seconded by Commissioner Johnson. Commissioners Heaton, McLemore, Johnson, Rose, Dunn, Freeman and Wunder voted in favor; none were opposed. At 9:50 AM, the Commissioners entered executive session. Following a unanimous vote by Commissioners Heaton, McLemore, Johnson, Rose, Dunn, Freeman and Wunder, the executive session ended and the regular meeting reconvened at 10:05 AM. Chairman Heaton confirmed that the only matter discussed in executive session was the pending litigation identified in the motion to go into executive session, and that no decisions were made or votes taken.

#### Other Business

Chairman Heaton asked if there was any other business or old business. There was none.

#### Adjourn

Chairman Heaton adjourned the meeting at 10:07 AM.

Approved:

John Heaton, Chairman

Minutes by:

Jane Tabor Commission Clerk