MINUTES OF THE NEW MEXICO MINING COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING MONDAY, MARCH 15, 2010

Note: Draft minutes subject to review and approval by the Commission

The New Mexico Mining Commission meeting was convened at 1:00 P.M. March 15, 2010 in Porter Hall on the first floor of the Wendell Chino building (Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department) located at 1220 South St. Francis Dr. in Santa Fe, NM. The meeting was audio recorded and the audio files are in the custody of the commission clerk.

The following members were present:

Marcy Leavitt Acting Chair, Environment Department

John Bemis State Land Office

Doug Bland NM Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources

Matthew Wunder Department of Game and Fish Richard Mohr Public Representative – Industry

Curtis Francisco Public Representative – Environment Alternate

Sally Malavé Commission Attorney

The following members were absent:

Jeremy Vesbach Public Representative – Environment

Vacant State Engineer's Office

Charlie Sanchez NM Soil and Water Conservation Comm.
Steve Loring NM Agricultural Experiment Station

John Hughes Industry Alternate

Further deliberation on Petition 09-01

Commissioner Mohr moves that the Commission go into Executive Session to further deliberate on Petition 09-01. The Motion is seconded by Commissioner Bland. **Motion passes unanimously on a roll call vote 6-0** (Leavitt - yes, Bemis - yes, Bland – yes, Wunder – yes, Mohr – Yes, Francisco – yes).

Decision on Petition 09-01

Commissioner Bemis starts to read a statement and moves, as a preliminary matter, that the Commission come out of executive session and that the minutes reflect that the only matter discussed in executive session was the record in the proceeding titled Petition 09-01 – In the Matter of the Petition for Review of the Director's Action General

Permit No. MK001DRY1. The Motion is seconded by Commissioner Bland. **Motion** passes unanimously on a roll call vote 6-0 (Leavitt - yes, Bemis - yes, Bland – yes, Wunder – yes, Mohr – Yes, Francisco – yes).

Commissioner Bemis continues reading the statement and moves that the Commission vote to affirm conditions 2, 3, 5, and 10 as reasonable and not beyond the requirements of 19.10.3.301. The Motion is seconded by Commissioner Mohr. **Motion passes unanimously on a roll call vote 6-0** (Leavitt - yes, Bemis - yes, Bland – yes, Wunder – yes, Mohr – Yes, Francisco – yes).

Commissioner Bemis also moves that the Commission affirm as reasonable and not an abuse of discretion, the Director's determination that Ree-Co's proposed deep drilling activity is a "minimal impact mining operation," and the Director's determination that Ree-Co's proposed deep drilling activity should be processed under a minimal impact exploration (302) permit or a regular exploration (402) permit. The Motion is seconded by Commissioner Wunder. **Motion passes unanimously on a roll call vote 6-0** (Leavitt - yes, Bemis - yes, Bland – yes, Wunder – yes, Mohr – yes, Francisco – yes).

After reading more of the statement Commissioner Bemis moves that the Commission vote to reject Ree-Co's claim that the General Mining Law of 1872 preempts the Director from applying the Mining Act and Mining Commission regulations to Ree-Co's proposed operation. The Motion is seconded by Commissioner Mohr. **Motion passes unanimously on a roll call vote 6-0** (Leavitt - yes, Bemis - yes, Bland – yes, Wunder – yes, Mohr – yes, Francisco – yes

Commissioner Bemis also states that in accordance with NMAC 19.10.14.1441(C), he moves that the Commission direct its counsel in this proceeding to prepare a written order memorializing the Commission's decision announced today within 45 days from today's date. He further moved that the Commission schedule a meeting soon thereafter for the purpose of approving the written order. The Motion is seconded by Commissioner Mohr. **Motion passes unanimously on a roll call vote 6-0** (Leavitt - yes, Bemis - yes, Bland – yes, Wunder – yes, Mohr – yes, Francisco – yes

The Commission set the next meeting for May 3rd, 2010. The meeting was adjourned about 1:45 PM.

Approved:		Minutes by:
	Date	
Marcy Leavitt, Chair		John J. Pfeil, Commission Clerk