From: Butch Kelin

To: <u>emnrd-parkscomments</u>, <u>EMNRD</u>

**Subject:** [EXTERNAL] Comments on current camping fee considerations

**Date:** Sunday, March 24, 2024 11:03:11 AM

CAUTION: This email originated outside of our organization. Exercise caution prior to clicking on links or opening attachments.

## New Mexico State Parks Division Information Session on State Park Fees Study

I just listened to this presentation on YouTube. I've been using my non-resident ACP for 2 years now. My domicile is in Texas but I have spent most of my time in NM, CO and AZ since my retirement. I am glad to see the fee schedule finally catching up with neighboring states. Personally, my experience in a lot of state parks was affected very much so by the presence of individuals taking advantage of free camping. But many are not actually camping, many are just sleeping in their cars or vans. I call them commuters because they takeoff in the morning, but come back every evening to generally the same place. If you could just enforce the 14 day rule, and having an ACP, that would clean up a lot of these sketchy individuals. I've seen a few signs indicating that a campsite must be occupied every night, but I've never seen or heard of that being enforced. I have heard that New Mexico has a drug problem. I think giving people who choose not to work a close to free place to overnight is just exacerbating New Mexico's drug problem. It's pretty obvious that many of these people are doing drugs in the state parks. If the laws that exist could just be enforced, this problem would also be alleviated.