## **AGENDA**

## RADIOACTIVE WASTE CONSULTATION TASK FORCE

## Regular Meeting: 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm on October 6, 2021 via WebEx/Telephonically

- 1. Call meeting to order/roll call: Chair, EMNRD Cabinet Secretary Sarah Cottrell Propst
- 2. Approval of the Agenda: Chair Cottrell Propst (action item)
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of the October 30, 2018 Regular Public Meeting: Chair Cottrell Propst (action item)
- 4. Adoption of 2021 Open Meetings Resolution: Dylan Fuge, General Counsel EMNRD (action item)
- 5. Report on WIPP Transportation: Eletha Trujillo (Informational)
- 6. Updates regarding current status of WIPP site: Task Force Discussion (Informational)
- 7. Schedule Follow-up Actions/Meeting; Chair Cottrell Propst (action item)
- 8. Public Comment
- 9. Adjournment

**Program:** Under the Energy, Minerals, and Natural Resources Department's leadership, and through the Radioactive Waste Consultation Task Force, six state agencies collaborate on the New Mexico Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP) Transportation Safety Program.

The task force program manager, through the WIPP Working Group, manages and implements the New Mexico WIPP Transportation Safety Program. The program includes the setting and updating of policies and operating procedures; training and equipping emergency responders along all New Mexico WIPP shipping routes; keeping the public informed on radioactive materials issues; monitoring and maintaining highway safety on New Mexico WIPP shipping routes; and inspecting all WIPP shipments at their point of origin or at the New Mexico ports of entry.

## STATE OF NEW MEXICO Task Force Members

| Name                  | Position            | Department     | Vote |
|-----------------------|---------------------|----------------|------|
| Sarah Cottrell Propst | Chairman            | EMNRD          | Yes  |
| James Kenney          | Secretary           | NMED           | Yes  |
| Michael Sandoval      | Secretary           | NMDOT          | Yes  |
| Jason Bowie           | Secretary-Designee  | NMDPS          | Yes  |
| Captain Rowley        | Designee            |                |      |
| Dr. David F. Scrase   | Secretary-Designee  | NMDOH          | Yes  |
| Ryan O'Connor         | Designee            |                |      |
| John Kondratick       | Acting Fire Marshal | <b>NMDHSEM</b> | No   |
| Bianca Ortiz Wertheim | Secretary           | <b>NMDSHEM</b> | No   |
| Jeff Steinborn        | Advisory Member     | Rad/Haz IC     | No   |
| Christine Chandler    | Advisory Member     | Rad/Haz IC     | No   |