Programs & Services

Search EMNRD

Coal Surface Mining Commission

  1. Home
  2. Coal Surface Mining Commission

The Coal Surface Mining Commission (CSMC), created in the Coal Surface Mining Act (69-25A-1 et seq. NMSA 1978), meets to amend and repeal mining regulations. The CSMC complies with the New Mexico Open Meetings Act. For details, please review the most recent Open Meetings Resolution.

The Commission comprises seven statutory members and two public members appointed by the Governor.


Commissioner of Public Lands: Stephanie Garcia Richard

State Engineer: Mike Hamman, P.E.; Catherine Zemlick, Ph.D. (Designee)

Director of the Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources: Nelia Dunbar, Ph.D.; Gretchen Hoffman (Designee)

Director of the Department of Game and Fish: Michael Sloane; Matthew Wunder, Ph.D., Chair (Designee)

Secretary of the Environment Department: James Kenney; Claudia Trueblood, Ph.D.  (Designee)

Chairman of the Soil and Water Conservation Commission: Dusty Hunt

Director of the Agricultural Experiment Station, NMSU: Leslie Edgar, Ph.D. (Designee)

PUBLIC MEMBERS (appointed by the Governor)

Erich Bower
Kathleen Sanchez


Daniel R. Rubin, Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General
407 Galisteo St., Bataan Memorial Building
Santa Fe NM 87501
Phone: (505) 537-4477


Stephanie Rodriguez
Mining and Minerals Division
1220 South St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: (505) 670-4777    Fax: (505) 476-3402