Programs & Services

Community Wildfire Protection Plans (CWPP)


Community Wildfire Protection Plans (CWPP)

Communities can take proactive steps to protect themselves from dangerous and damaging wildfire. The Forestry Division works with New Mexico Counties and federal land management agencies to assist counties and communities to plan ahead for wildfire. See below for available resources and contact your local Forestry Division office for additional information.

Click the images below to download a PDF.

Community Wildfire Protection Plans (CWPP) are authorized and defined in Title I of the Healthy Forests Restoration Act (HFRA). Federal and state funding for hazardous fuel reduction projects is dependent on whether a county or community has a signed and approved CWPP.

CWPP’s have three main components: (1) Collaboration with all stakeholders throughout the CWPP process, (2) Identification and prioritization of hazardous fuel reduction areas, and (3) addressing the treatment of structural ignitability within the CWPP area. CWPP’s are reviewed by the New Mexico Fire Planning Task Force by the 1st of December each year and if approved placed on this website.

CWPP Handbook

CWPP Guidelines

CWPP Leaders Guide

County and Community CWPP’s

County County CWPP Community CWPP
Bernalillo N/A

East Mountains

Middle Rio Grande*

Catron Catron County

Apache Creek



Horse Mountain

Jewett Gap



Pie Town


Wild Horse

Willow Creek

Chaves Chaves County
Cibola Cibola County
Colfax Colfax County

Angel Fire

Cimarron Watershed

Elk Ridge

Enchanted Circle*** 

Hidden Lake

Taos Pines

Ute Park

Vermejo Park+

Curry Curry County
De Baca De Baca
Dona Ana Dona Ana
Eddy Eddy County
Grant Grant County
Guadalupe Guadalupe County
Harding Harding County
Hidalgo Hidalgo County
Lea Lea County
Lincoln  Lincoln County


Greater Ruidoso

Los Alamos Los Alamos County
Luna Luna County
McKinley McKinley County
Mora Mora County
Otero Otero County
Quay Quay County
Rio Arriba Rio Arriba County

Santa Clara Pueblo

Upper Rio Chama

Roosevelt Roosevelt County
San Juan N/A San Juan Basin
San Miguel San Miguel County
Sandoval Sandoval County Middle Rio Grande*
Santa Fe Santa Fe County

City of Santa Fe+

Glorieta Estates+

Sierra Sierra County
Socorro Socorro County


Middle Rio Grande*

Taos Taos County

Enchanted Circle***

Village of Questa

Taos Pueblo


Torrance Torrance County
Union Union County
Valencia Valencia County Middle Rio Grande*

*encompasses areas in Bernalillo, Sandoval, Socorro and Valencia Counties

**encompasses areas in Cibola and McKinley Counties

***encompasses areas in Colfax and Taos Counties

#encompasses areas in Lincoln, Socorro, and Torrance Counties

+CWPP in progress


District 1 - CHAMA


District 3 - SOCORRO

HC 32, Box 2 1701 Enterprise
Socorro, NM 87801


District 5 - CAPITAN


District 2 - CIMARRON


District 4 - LAS VEGAS

HC 33, Box 109 #4                                
Las Vegas, NM 87701


District 6 - BERNALILLO

5105 Santa Fe Hills Blvd NE               
Rio Rancho, NM 87144