Programs & Services

Mining Act Reclamation Program

The Mining Act Reclamation Program (MARP) was created under the New Mexico Mining Act of 1993 to regulate hard rock mining reclamation activities for all minerals except the exploration and extraction of potash, sand, gravel, caliche, borrow dirt, and quarry rock used as aggregate in construction; the exploration and extraction of natural petroleum in a liquid or gaseous state by means of wells or pipes; the development or extraction of coal; the extraction of geothermal resources; smelting, refining, cleaning, preparation, transportation or other off-site operations not conducted on permit areas; or the extraction, processing or disposal of commodities, by product materials or wastes or other activities regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

Use MMD Online to make user-customized queries of the mines database.

Hardrock Statute and Regulations

&

Mining Act Reclamation Program Rules

&

Mining and Minerals Division Rules

Permit Requirements for Energy and Mineral Projects in New Mexico

Contact Information

Name Phone Number Email
Holland Shepherd, Program Manager (505) 490-0967 holland.shepherd@state.nm.us
Clinton Chisler, Reclamation Soil Scientist (505) 467-9589 clinton.chisler@state.nm.us
David (“DJ”) Ennis, PG, Reclamation Specialist (505) 372-8634 david.ennis@state.nm.us
Jennifer Johnson, Reclamation Engineer (505) 470-5354 jennifere.johnson@state.nm.us
Kevin Myers, Senior Reclamation Specialist (505) 490-0726 kevin.myers@state.nm.us
David Ohori, Senior Reclamation Specialist (505) 216-8945 david.ohori@state.nm.us
Stephanie Rodriguez, Records Manager (505) 660-4777 stephanie.rodriguez@state.nm.us
Carmen Rose, Reclamation Specialist (505) 216-8399 carmen.rose@state.nm.us