Programs & Services

Legal

The Office of General Counsel provides policy guidance, legal advice and representation to the Cabinet Secretary and Division Directors.

This includes legal advocacy and representation of the Department in both administrative and judicial proceedings and the development of legal strategies that further the Department’s mission and goals. The Office of General Counsel regularly interacts with other agency attorneys including the Attorney General’s office and attorneys representing entities regulated by the Department to negotiate, or litigate if necessary, the resolution of legal disputes to support the Department’s goals. The attorneys within the Office of General Counsel are responsible for reviewing the contractual commitments entered into by the Department each year and assisting divisions with personnel matters, including providing advice and direction on disciplinary actions and representing the department in State Personnel Office hearings.

The Office of General Counsel also spearheads the Department’s bill analysis process by drafting clear, concise proposed legislation on matters affecting the Department for the Cabinet Secretary and Division Directors and helps oversee a team of approximately 40 people who review proposed legislation and its effect on the Department.

Dylan Fuge, General Counsel, 505-476-3200, dylan.fuge@state.nm.us

Cheryl Bada, Deputy General Counsel, 505-660-0738, cheryl.bada@state.nm.us

Eric Ames, Attorney, 505-741-1231, eric.ames@state.nm.us

Dana David, Attorney, 505-660-0961, danaz.david@state.nm.us

Susan Sita, Attorney, 505-470-4671, susan.sita@state.nm.us

Jesse Tremaine, Attorney, 505-231-9312, jessek.tremaine@state.nm.us 

Denise Zendel, Contracts Analyst, 505-490-776, dzendel@state.nm.us

Sara Griego, Paralegal, 505-476-3211, sara.griego@state.nm.us