Programs & Services

Search EMNRD

Meet Our Team

  1. Home
  2. OCD Home
  3. Meet Our Team


OCD Contact List Dated 03/24/2023

Dylan Fuge, Acting Director

Dylan Fuge was appointed the Acting Director of the Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department (EMNRD), Oil Conservation Division (OCD) in January 2023 and has been EMNRD’s General Counsel since March 2021. Dylan is a natural resources attorney with 15+ years of experience in both the private and public sectors advising clients on complex natural resources and regulatory issues, including issues surrounding oil and gas development on state, federal and tribal lands.  Prior to OCD, Mr. Fuge worked at Latham & Watkins, LLP and with the Department of Interior, Bureau of Land Management.  He holds degrees in Geology and Studies in the Environment from Yale University and earned his Law Degree and a Masters of Environmental Management from Duke University. Dylan has been an integral component of the legal team supporting the OCD since he joined EMNRD as General Counsel.

Brandon Powell, Acting Deputy Director

Brandon Powell was named Acting Deputy Director January 2023, and previously the Engineering Bureau Chief of the Oil Conservation Division in November of 2020. Brandon has 17+ years with the Division. He started in 2006 as an Environmental Specialist, from there he has been promoted through several positions including an Inspection and Enforcement supervisor, and District Supervisor. In his time with the Division, Brandon has also participated in and been an integral part of multiple Environmental and Engineering related rule makings.

Joe Cruz, Bureau Chief, Administrative

Joe Cruz was named Administrative Bureau Chief of the Oil Conservation Division in June of 2022.  Joe has 15+ years in private industry and 10+ years in state government.  His previous positions with the State of New Mexico includes Mortgage Industry Manager with the Regulation and Licensing Department (Financial Institutions Division) as well as Financial Audit Supervisor with the Office of the State Auditor.  His credentials demonstrate extensive knowledge in management, auditing, regulatory compliance and administration. He holds a Bachelor of Business Administration in Financial Management, a Supplementary Major in Law and Society (Pre-Law) and a Minor in Spanish from New Mexico State University.

Rosa M. Romero, Bureau Chief, Environmental

Rosa Romero was named the Environmental Bureau Chief of the Oil Conservation Division in April of 2022.  Prior to the Oil Conservation Division, Rosa worked 10+ years in New Mexico regulatory compliance with the New Mexico Environment Department and the New Mexico Office of the State Engineer in various capacities with a focus on legislative development and building industry partnerships. Originally from Taos, NM, Rosa attended Western New Mexico University with a degree in Professional Zoology.

Justin Wrinkle, Acting Bureau Chief, Engineering

Justin Wrinkle was named acting Engineering Bureau Chief in January 2023, and was previously the engineering specialist supervisor for the division since March 2022. Justin has 15+ years of experience in the oil and gas industry starting in 2001 as a field operator and has since held numerous positions, including Lead Field Operator, Production Foreman, Superintendent and has participated in multiple scopes including drilling, production, completions, and environmental activities.  Originally from Roswell NM, Justin is currently located in Carlsbad NM.